Tips and ideas for a beginner?

Apatheia
I’ve been in the freshwater hobby for some time now, and despite only a relatively short time I’ve got plenty of experience with aquariums and know all the basics.
Recently I’ve been wanting to give myself a challenge and hop into the saltwater community. I currently have an open 20G long. Yes, I’m very aware that a smaller tank is higher maintenance and less stocking but I much prefer constant small work as I like my nano tanks. I know the basics to a degree and just need the supplies to get ‘er filled and cycled. Now, any tips and tricks? What’s some advice to save me in the longrun? And what are some stocking ideas?

Jesterrace
Apatheia said:
I’ve been in the freshwater hobby for some time now, and despite only a relatively short time I’ve got plenty of experience with aquariums and know all the basics.
Recently I’ve been wanting to give myself a challenge and hop into the saltwater community. I currently have an open 20G long. Yes, I’m very aware that a smaller tank is higher maintenance and less stocking but I much prefer constant small work as I like my nano tanks. I know the basics to a degree and just need the supplies to get ‘er filled and cycled. Now, any tips and tricks? What’s some advice to save me in the longrun? And what are some stocking ideas?
The 20 Long is arguably the best small footprint tank you can go with for saltwater and usually the smallest tank I recommend, so good choice on that.

Here are my recommendations

1) Regardless of which route you go (ie Fish Only, Corals) I strongly recommend an RODI Water System or reliable RODI Water Source (ie LFS). Even in Fish Only tanks Treated Tap is very prone to causing you struggles with unwanted algae (ie Green Hair Algae, Red Slime Algae aka Cyanobacteria).