Tiny White Worms In Betta Tank

Discussion in 'Betta Fish' started by K8lin, Apr 22, 2019.

1. K8linNew MemberMember

HELP for the love of gahd!
    okay I did a 50% water change on my 2 month old Betta tank yesterday. im new to the hobby so i spend a lot of time staring closely at my Betta fish because I'm paranoid about his health. lol so I try to look for anything weird and was horrified to see these very tiny worms squirming about in the water. it creeped me out I had to shower.
    they are very thin and about 1-2 mm long
    there is mixed information I can find about whether they are safe or not. im also not sure where they came from as him and the plants went in at the same time and I haven't seen them before.
    also can they be potential harmful to humans I don't wear gloves when I clean the tank?
    he does seem hungrier than usual but I did start changing up his pellet food with fluval bug bites that he's been eating like crazy. I also haven't noticed any poop at the bottom. he does have a plump stomach on one side when he eats and a newnew greyishscale on the other side that just showed up within the last week. I attached photos.
    I ordered some snails and a couple of shrimp that will be here in a week I want to make sure to get rid of them before I introduce them to the tank. I have a small quarantine tank that they will be in until I know they're healthy too.
    if someone could tell me what they are that'd be great!

Attached Files:

2. Jeff041419New MemberMember

By the odds they are probably detritus worms. That's the most common "little wormy thing" in an aquarium.

Detritus worms are like earthworms on land. They live in the soil/substrate and feed on any sort of organic material they can find.

Detritus worms are no more harmful than earthworms. They can be beneficial by helping to process any organic material that gets down into the substrate. Fish can safely eat them.