Tinfoil Barb Growth Rate

Noobie

Reaction score
How quickly will these TFBs grow? I have two of them in a 10 gal tank with 4 tigers and a RTS. I purposefully bought them small, as I'm aware of their potential size. I hope to have a tank large enough to house them later on, but how long do I have?

Bonochick

Well Known
Reaction score
Re: Growth Rate

I have no experience myself, but I found this:

"When fed correctly, Tinfoil Barbs grow rapidly, adding an inch in length every four weeks or less."

Gozer_1

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years

Yup sounds about right, up to 1" a month for the first 6 moths or so. Their growth kind of winds down after that. I have one that is 4 years old. He's about 11" from tip of fins to tip of nose. 10-15 inches is average though I have heard of larger 18" TFBs. They are voracious eaters and will gobble up as much food as they can fit in their mouths and keep trying for more especially when young and growing fast. I have 5. Four 3" and one 11". I feed them 3 or 4 times a day, for the little guys. Boy do they love earthworms too.

OP
N

Noobie

Reaction score

Gozer,

Having had my TFBs for 3 months, I've witnessed rapid growth. I bought them in April, when they were just over an inch long. They are now close to 3 inches, which is consistant with the 1 inch/ month rate. I have also noticed that they eat large amounts of food very quickly. I am relieved in a way to discover that this behavior is natural, and not just a "learned" behavior, as my redtail shark will chase the TFBs away from the bottom levels of the tank when there is food in the water. =) Does this mean I should feed them more than the recommended amount? I've had to cut back on feeding due to an ammonia problem in my 10 gal tank recently, so I cut back in both. I know the TFBs like bloodworms, but you say earthworms, huh? Might give that a try. How about bugs? (Ants, flies, etc)

Gozer_1

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years