Time to say hi and introduce myself!

Discussion in 'Welcome to FishLore' started by STANNY, Dec 8, 2012.

1. S

STANNY New Member Member

I've been registered here a while and read loads and loads, but not really posted or introduced myself, so thought it was time to post a bit about me and my first/new tank.
    I'm Damien, i'm a self employed Electrician from Leeds, UK. I've always had a bit an interest in fish, sea life and the like, and have wanted an aquarium for years. Apart from owning goldfish as a child after winning one at a fair, I have never had the time, money or space for one.
    A couple of months ago while shopping for things for my house with my partner we stumbled across a local aquarist in a garden centre. While there admiring the fish we managed to talk ourselves into finally buying a tank. So I ordered the Juwel Rio 125, and picked it up a week later. During that week waiting, I read and read and read loads loads more. About loads of fish, advice on choosing fish, on tank maintenance and of course on cycling. Despite the aquarist telling me I could add fish a week later I went with the fishless cycling route, following the cycling with shrimp guide. Within 3 weeks my tank was cycled.
    I went to a different lfs to buy my first fish. 10 Neon Tetra and 4 Black Tetra, starting cheap and easy. They appear to be very happy and I love watching them.