Thoughts on my 50 gallon stock list

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jordan Harris

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I'm new to aquariums and have recently purchased a 50 gallon. I'm currently in the process of doing a fishless cycle. (Thanks for all the help on this forum where that's concerned.) I have been doing quite a bit of research and I believe that I have a reasonable stock list.

1- Angelfish
2- Rainbowfish
6- Harlequin Rasbora
6- Neon Tetra
6- Kuhli Loach

Please feel free to give any comments or suggestions. As I stated I'm new to the hobby and would love any and all input.(positive or negative) Thanks in advance for everyone's time!

tyguy7760

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
First let me say welcome to the forum!

What kind of rainbowfish? Do you mean rainbow cichlids or rainbowfish? As rainbowfish need at least 6 in a school

Also Neon tetras are not compatible with angelfish as angelfish will eventually eat them and they need much warmer water than a neon tetra can handle long term.

What are the dimensions of the tank?

Personally I think you can up the schools a bit. You can do 12 -15 kuhli loaches as well as 12-15 rasbora.

OP
J

Jordan Harris

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Thanks for your quick responses. I was thinking about a Boesemani Rainbow. Do they need 6 or more? I don't know the exact dimensions. I'll check when I get home. I do know that it's 48" wide. Any other ideas for small shool in fish?

tyguy7760

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
I think 6 boesemani are going to stock your tank and leave very little room left. A 48 inch wide tank is good. Here would be my suggestions

1 Angelfish
10 Praecox Rainbows (these stay about 2.5 inches)
10-12 Harlequin Rasbora/Cardinal Tetra
12-15 Kuhli Loach

OR

1 Angelfish
2-3 (M/F or M/2F) Pearl Gourami
Choose 1 Schooling fish in the numbers above
12-15 Kuhli Loach