This newbie has lots and LOTS of questions!

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by Seas, Jul 18, 2015.

1. SeasNew MemberMember

Hi! So I'm extremely new to all this, and also very very excited!! I've been trying to get an aquarium for 2 years but my mom kept saying no. And last night (This is how new I am) she finally said I could get one after we move. I did research for hours, read probably 10-15 threads on here, and a handful of articles elsewhere, and I have come up with more questions than I have answers! There's a lot too, so I'm going to put them under little categories so everythings organized lol

Sorry if these are like REALLY basic, obvious questions...or too many questions for that matter. But I want to know everything I can before diving into this! I'll also be keeping notes on all the information I get (Stupidly didn't do that to begin with :/ ) so that none of this information gets lost along the line :)

Fish in general (Anything about fish I didnt know where to put in other categories lol) :

Is 2 fish too many to start off? I know you're not supposed to put too many in at first, but I'd like at least 2
    Can you get schooling fish to start off? I heard they get stressed without about 6 other fish so how could I get a schooling fish to start?
    Can I get a Blue Diamond Discus locally? Or do they usually have to be bought online?
    How do you tell if a fish is pregnant?
    How long is the gestation period?
    How do you tell if a fish is ill?
    Is there anything I should know about medicine?

Tank set up:
    Which works better - Live plants or fake plants? Which is more beneficial for the fish?
    Is a breeding trap (I think that's what it's called?) immediately necessary?
    Is a digital thermometer better or a different kind?
    Whats the best way to start the nitrogen cycle? The only way Ive heard of is by fish flakes is that the only//best way?
    - General tips on setting up tanks appreciated ^.^

Quarantine Tank: