Thinking About Starting Co2

Discussion in 'Plant CO2' started by acjag, Dec 6, 2018.

1. acjagNew MemberMember

I'm thinking of trying co2 and since I'm new at this I'm hesitant to run out and dump a pile of money on a pressurized system so I've been looking into DYI but have come to the conclusion that short term (initial start) it's cheap but long term will have cost more over time because it doesn't last long and new mixtures add up quick. While looking into using co2 there's discussion of ph swings, measuring kh vs ph, it's all is confusing but after reading multiple threads I'm starting to make some sense of it I think. Here's a question to some who have lots of experience. PH is whether water is alkaline based or acid based, Kh is the waters ability to hold Ph steady, Gh is a measure of how much of earth minerals are in the water. So if I have no fish to worry about and only want plants and start to inject co2, PH swings wouldn't be such a big deal so long as a didn't create a tank of acid, correct. If co2 is shut off at night then turn on during the day and there's good circulation and no fish to gas out and I'm just giving an acceptable amount during the day then there would be really no reason to measure kh/ph or co2 level, correct? Now if i do have fish and want co2 injection but keep it on the low end, let say around 20 ppm, shutting co2 off at night, good circulation at night to help provide oxygen production, my plants would still benefit even at 20 ppm, chances of ph swings and harming fish shouldn't be present or problem correct? Over time when i'm comfortable with co2 I'll bump the level to 30 ppm for optimum growth. Running a strong wave maker/circulatory constantly day or night should help correct?

2. -Mak-

-Mak-Well Known MemberMember