Thinking About Starting a Cichlid Tank--Advice on Filtration System

1. csutter1 Member Member

Hello!

I'm a new hobbyist and just joined the world of Fishlore! I have been wanting to start my own aquarium for quite some time now, but have resisted the urge due to my inexperience and lack of knowledge.
    I've finally taken the time to do a substantial amount of research however, and feel ready to start planning out my full first set-up. I've read all of the Welcome/Beginner sticky's on this forum and would now like some advice on what types/brands of equipment I'll need.

I haven't purchased anything yet as I'm the type of person who would rather be fully prepared and knowledgeable, as opposed to jumping into things blindly.

My hope is to purchase a 55-75 gallon tank with stand. I like the look of bow-front aquariums, but am open to any type, so recommendations are welcomed!

I also would appreciate if I could get some feedback on what filters work best for tanks of this size and what brands have proven best. I am wanting to have sand in my aquarium, so I'll either need a power filter or canister, but my knowledge on these are limited and would love some input on how they work exactly and which will be the easiest or most beneficial to use.

I made a post earlier regarding stocking the tank and I've realized I am IN LOVE with cichlids. With that in mind, could any of you offer me some filter recommendations?
    I really don't want anything that's very complex or hard to manage--simple is good in my world!

Thank you!!

NOTE: It's looking like I will go the route of Lake Malawi cichlids. I hear they can/should be slightly overstocked to curb aggression? Keep that in mind when offering advice on the filtration system.

2. Aquarist Fishlore Legend Member

Good morning,