Thinking About Getting Betta?

1. Bri Bri

Bri Bri New Member Member

Hi I'm new to fish in general, so please don't get upset if I say something inaccurate. I have been doing quite a bit of research on Betta fish and Oscar fish. I think it's best for me to get a Betta fish first because they are more for beginners, to 'test the waters' and see if I should get into fish owning. Is there anything I should know before getting a Betta. Is Aquabid a good site to buy them from vs the pet store? In a 5 gallon tank how many water changes a week would I need to do and how much water (with a filter).

Thanks!

2. 75g Discus Tank

75g Discus Tank Fishlore VIP Member

Do you know about cycling?

Also, welcome to the forum!

Also, the Aquabid bettas are all from Thailand basically. You will get really high quality bettas there, but you will pay a lot for for the fish and shipping.

3. OP
    OP
    Bri Bri

Hi! I do know a little bit about it. I did some research recently. Some people think baceria starters work and some don't . Some say do apply ammonia (I believe that's what it's called) to the tank and slowly do it.

What do you think about it?

Sorry for the questions!

4. 75g Discus Tank

Questions are good when you first start. You don’t need to apologize. It would be a lot better to ask any questions about setting up the tank now than asking questions when you get your fish!