There is something with my Betta's eye

GinGirl97

This is Marlin Monroe, I got him Wednesday last week and on the Friday he had white stuff on his eye. It went away after a water change but came back again today. I did another water change today and a little of the white stuff fell off. I don't know what to do. I have another betta that I have had no issues with but I am still very new to fish keeping. I don't know what to do to help him. I am going to start daily water changes with Indian Almond Leaves tp try and treat it while my city is in lockdown.

The current thoughts are mooneye, or velvet.

Any thoughts on what this could be and ways to help him are greatly appreciated.

Ammonia is 0, Nitrite is 0 and Nitrate is 5. His tank is cycled using an established filter. He is in a planted tank with penny wort, duckweed, moss, guppy grass, hornwort, Anubias, and a plant I cannot remember the name of but it looks like dill. He also has a coconut hide in his tank, a sponge filter and a heater.

MarlinMonroe.jpg

darkcat

It looks like cloudy eyes. So you should move your betta to a quarantine tank and treat him or her with salt. Keep up with the water changes!!

Upvote 0

GinGirl97

It looks like cloudy eyes. So you should move your betta to a quarantine tank and treat him or her with salt. Keep up with the water changes!!
Is there a particular salt I need to use or just aquarium salt? And will be be okay in his current tank until tomorrow when lockdown ends?

Upvote 0

darkcat

Is there a particular salt I need to use or just aquarium salt? And will be be okay in his current tank until tomorrow when lockdown ends?
Yes. You can use your tank. Are there other fishes in there? Yes use aquarium salt. Not kitchen/table salt. It's toxic. I've never had this experience of cloudy eyes so Its from my research. Hear others who has experienced this too! Good luck.

Upvote 0

GinGirl97

Tank
What is the water volume of the tank? 20L