The typical White Spot post

tequilatamm
HI all.

I'm not a newbie, we've owned tanks for about 7 years.

We currently have a very large tank... I'm not sure how many litres, but for those of you in Australia, you will be familiar with the Aqua One 980 tank... put it this way, it can happily hold about 55 medium size fish at a time.

Several years ago, when we had a slightly smaller tank, we had a White Spot (Ich) outbreak which devastated our tank. At about the two week mark, just when things were looking better, we woke up one day and the situation had grown much worse. Then we lost about 80% of our stock. We were doing regular water changes and medicating with the usual cures.

This disease is supposed to get better, but it got worse, even with 3-day water changes, increase in temp, and malachite green medications.

What finally seemed to kill it was medicating for another 5 days with a malachite green preparation with formaldehyde also, and then moving them to our newly prepared 980 tank complete with brand new water.

Flash forward to present day... we purchased a few fish about 2 weeks ago, and one was a female betta. I have learned bettas are notorious for carrying this disease, and I wish now I'd been smart enough to quarrantine this fish before popping it in our main tank.

However, we've been disease-free for the past 2 years, since that last outbreak.

Well, the betta had a couple white spots in the AM when we went out. for the day. I wasn't sure they were white spot, they looke dull and perhaps something else. However, when we got home later that day, our hatchet had about 5 or 6 white spots, and it was pretty clear what was going on.

Since the tank was cleary on its way to infestation anyway, we decided we'd better use the treatment that worked the last time: Malachite Green and Formaldehyde, so without hesitation we put some in.