Status
Not open for further replies.

1611mac

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
My new tank:
It was such a steal I had to grab it from an online listing. It's a 40gal - 36x18x17. The "breeder" size was an accident, I really wasn't looking for one but It got me to thinking... shallow tank (so to speak) equals more light to the bottom!

So for a planted tank... what are advantages and dis-advantages in dealing with this size tank? Ideas?

I have little to no planted tank experience... doing a lot of reading but I'd most like to hear from the experts! That's You!

Thanks in advance.

jay275475

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Its not that much of a shallow tank, it is compared to lets say a 2-3 foot tall tank. With a tank that size you wouldn't need as powerful lights then a deeper tank. I don't really see how this is much of an advantage or disadvantage.

To be clear - Shallow tank doesn't equal more light on the bottom well it does mean more PAR at the bottom with same light if you put it on a shallower tank compared to a deeper tank.

OP
1611mac

1611mac

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
I'm speaking relative to 40 gal.... it's "shallow" because its wider than it is deep. 18 front to back, 17 in height. That is a lot of substrate area for 40 gallons is it not? Seems like some nice "layouts" could be done... I could be wrong... like I said, I'm a noob.

BDpups

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
So for a planted tank... what are advantages and dis-advantages in dealing with this size tank? Ideas?
Deeper tanks are nicer than a narrower tank in general. The footprint will allow for larger decor such as rock work and driftwood in a planted tank. I'm not sure if this is an advantage, just nicer.
I have little to no planted tank experience... doing a lot of reading but I'd most like to hear from the experts! That's You!