The Journey Of My 29g Tank!

Discussion in 'Freshwater Aquarium Builds' started by Frozen One, Apr 18, 2018.

1. Frozen One

Frozen One Valued Member Member

Hello all, I’ve been in the hobby of Fishkeeping for 4 months now and In March I purchased a 29 gallon tank. I am not a newbie, but not a pro. I’d say I’m an amateur lol. But either way, let’s get down to brass tax. I am going to need help in bringing my vision for this tank to life. I know already the stocking I wish to pursue for this tank but need help in other areas.

Substrate: I want black substrate, I’ve only worked with gravel and want to shift towards something a little finer. I’ll be taking any suggestions!

Live Plants: I’ve only worked with java fern and Anubias. That being said I want some plants that will be easily attached to pieces of driftwood. And I want plenty of space for my pleco and cories to hide. Low to medium difficulty to upkeep is ideal as I’m still new to taking care of plants. I’ll also need some suggestions for floating plants :)

Filtration: I also needing some weighing in on what filtration system to use, I want to try making a sponge filter but if not a sponge filter then an aquaclear 50.

Heating: I love my Cobalt Neotherm heater in my 10 gallon and would get the wattage for a new one accordingly for a 29 gallon tank.

Sorry for all the reading one has to do to reply, but I need help from my fellow fishsperts (fish experts)

2. Alex6455

Alex6455 Valued Member Member

For the substrate, you could use black diamond blasting sand, which is finer than gravel (its sand lol) and is black. It is pretty cheap too.