The Cycling Process

1. jcarter0713 Initiate Member

So first I am a beginner at this hobby, so please bear with me. I am going to outline as much info as possible to help ensure everyone can provide as much help as they can.

5/29 - Setup new tank, cleaned all inside components, filled with water, turned on filter, used tap conditioner.
    5/31 - Tested water, High ammonia , used API ammonia Lock
    6/2 - Tested water, High ammonia , used API ammonia Lock
    6/3 - Used PH Lock 7.0 by API to bring pH down
    6/4 - Tested water, High ammonia , used API ammonia Lock. Also added 5 Zebra Danios
    6/5 - 3 Danios Died
    6/7 - partial water change roughly 20% used water conditioner
    6/8 - 1 Danio died, tested water high Ammonia. did nothing.
    6/10 - Final Danio Died - Read about Seachem Prime, bought
    6/11 - DId partial water change, added Seachem Prime & Stability
    6/12 - Added Seachem Stability
    6/13- Tested Water still no change in water results. Added Stability

I have a 29 gallon tank, a 150 watt heater a Aqeoun filter, that filters 200 gallon per hour. I use the API freshwater test kit and follow all directions step by step. Attached in a spreadsheet is the test results form each day for all tests.

I need to know should I be seeing changes now? If so, what is going wrong, and do I need to do? I want to do this right and also not kill any more fish if possible.

Attached Files:

2. Pikachu13131 Member Member

The pH wasnt stable and the ammonia wasn't at 0 thats most likely why the died.

3. jcarter0713 Initiate Member

That's what I assumed. Any advice on how to get those levels down?? Or if they should be dropping by now??

4. Pikachu13131 Member Member

It should drop to 0 eventually,if you can get plants and used media from someone else's filter your tank will be instantly cycled.

5. codyrex97 Well Known Member Member