Thai Micro Crabs

Discussion in 'Freshwater Fish and Invertebrates' started by Shrimp Planet, Apr 18, 2017.

1. S

Shrimp Planet New Member Member

Hello, I have some Thai micro crabs arriving on Thursday and have several tanks to choose from for their new home, I was planning to add them to my red fire sakaura tank it's 150 litre tank and has around 50 sakaura, a few Amanos, 4 fan tailed guppies and 2 sail fin mollies. It's heavily planted with lots of ferns mosses driftwood, cholla wood, various leaves, rocks and gravels. I have very little knowledge of these crabs and wanted to make sure they will be ok in the same tank as the mollies or would they be better in one of my shrimp only tanks, I have 3 shrimp only tanks to chose from however I shan't add the crabs to the giant african and whisker shrimp tank as the whisker shrimp are very agressive.
    I have a tank with yellow fire sakaura and snails. And a tank with ghost shrimp and amanos.
    I would like to add them to the red sakaura tank but am conserned the mollies might be too much for the crabs to cope with.
    Also the sakaura are breeding well and constantly have lots of young in this tank will crabs eat the baby shrimp fry?

2. TexasDomer

TexasDomer Fishlore Legend Member

I would keep them in a shrimp only tank. They're reclusive, and I'd be afraid of a molly trying to eat them. The crabs are small, so I wouldn't think they'd eat baby shrimp, but I don't know for sure.

3. meyowmeow

meyowmeow Valued Member Member