Tetra Schooling Behavior

JettsPapa

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hello,

I'm a beginner with a 40-gallon breeder tank, with mostly tetras in it. I have 6 White Skirts, 6 Black Phantoms, 7 Serpaes, and 8 neons (along with one Pearl Gourami, 3 mollies, and 5 corys). Everything I've read says they should be kept in groups, but my neons are the only ones that seem to school, and even with them it's not unusual for one or two to be off by themselves.

The White Skirts especially scatter all over the tank. What's going on? Do they not stay in schools because they don't feel threatened?

StarGirl15

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
No its normal. I have had a few different kind of tetras (Neon, cardinal, red eye, von rio, ember) and the Rummynose were the only ones that mostly stayed close together. Also the larger the number the better they will school.

jpm995

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Probably a good sign that the fish are secure and comfortable to go off by themselves. It's a shame as neons and cardinals look great in a large school.

MangoPulp

Reaction score
I have 8 Candy Cane Tetras and they only school tightly when they are nervous, such as when I clean the tank or make changes to plants and such. Other than that they stay in the same general area of each other but not a tight school.

JettsPapa

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Thanks for the replies. That seems to be one less thing to worry about.

highlander75

Reaction score
My neon tetras (9 of them in a 20 gallon) will split off into sub-groups of 5 and 4. They go exploring in all of the live plants i have in the tank. This is perfectly normal and i would not worry if i were you. I've even seen 8 of my neon's grouped together with the odd one out swimming and exploring, he eventually returns to his mates. :)

Fljoe

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hello,