Help testing with API master kit and prime.

Status
Not open for further replies.

jsides1979

Valued Member
Messages
62
Reaction score
0
Points
101
Location
NC
Experience
1 year
Got a odd problem going on with my tank. I was in the middle of the cycle and ammonia was 0 and the nitrite was 5.0ppm+ and was doing daily water changes which help bring it down some. Some members told me about prime, so I went out and bought some and been using it when I do water changes and by the directions. Question is I tested everything last night and haven't done any water changes in the past few days and my test come back. 0 ammonia, 0 nitrite, and 0 nitrate. Could it be the API kit giving me false readings or the prime. I am not sure if my tank flipped on me or what.
 

Lucy

Moderator
Messages
45,876
Reaction score
2,366
Points
1,383
Location
USA
Experience
5 to 10 years
Prime can give a false ammonia readings if you don't wait 24 hours to test (according to seachem's website)

Otherwise, it shouldn't effect the cycle.

The #2 nitrate bottle has to be banged around pretty well to get the crystals mixed.
Otherwise you could get a false 0 reading.

I'd suggest that you test the nitrates again, this time shake and whack the bottle on the edge of a table a couple of times.
 

Aquarist

Fishlore Legend
Messages
39,609
Reaction score
313
Points
458
Location
On the beach
Experience
More than 10 years
Hello Jsides,

Be sure to to shake the bottles really well. Especially the ones for Nitrates. Sometimes the chemicals can form crystals on the bottom of the bottle. Check the dates on them too. They should be good for 3 years from the date stamped on the bottle. I like new kits every year myself though.

Prime should not play a role in your test results as long as you wait 24 hours to test once you've added it.

Since you have a planted tank your cycled readings may very well be 0 ammonia, 0 nitrites and 0 nitrates. Without live plants you should show some nitrates, best under 20. I'd test for a couple of more days. If you get the same readings then you are probably cycled.

Ken

Lucy
 
Last edited:

flyin-lowe

Well Known Member
Messages
583
Reaction score
32
Points
113
Location
Indiana
Experience
2 years
What fish do you have in the tank and how many. I am assuming there are fish but your profile isn't real specific. Cycling with fish takes quite a bit longer then fishless cycling. I think one reason is due to the number of water changes you have to do and keeping the ammonia levels down will not grow the bacteria as fast. I was cycling a 75 gallon tank with fish and after about 12 weeks I finally used TSS. During the 12 weeks I was getting some different readings sometimes leading me to think that I was almost cycled. Then after a day or two the ammonia was right back up and I never did get a reading for nitrites the entire time.
 
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #5
OP
jsides1979

jsides1979

Valued Member
Messages
62
Reaction score
0
Points
101
Location
NC
Experience
1 year
Prime can give a false ammonia readings if you don't wait 24 hours to test (according to seachem's website)

Otherwise, it shouldn't effect the cycle.

The #2 nitrate bottle has to be banged around pretty well to get the crystals mixed.
Otherwise you could get a false 0 reading.

I'd suggest that you test the nitrates again, this time shake and whack the bottle on the edge of a table a couple of times.
I read that and whacked the **** out of the bottles.
 
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #6
OP
jsides1979

jsides1979

Valued Member
Messages
62
Reaction score
0
Points
101
Location
NC
Experience
1 year
What fish do you have in the tank and how many. I am assuming there are fish but your profile isn't real specific. Cycling with fish takes quite a bit longer then fishless cycling. I think one reason is due to the number of water changes you have to do and keeping the ammonia levels down will not grow the bacteria as fast. I was cycling a 75 gallon tank with fish and after about 12 weeks I finally used TSS. During the 12 weeks I was getting some different readings sometimes leading me to think that I was almost cycled. Then after a day or two the ammonia was right back up and I never did get a reading for nitrites the entire time.
5 cichlids and a pleco. Live plants as well.
 
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #7
OP
jsides1979

jsides1979

Valued Member
Messages
62
Reaction score
0
Points
101
Location
NC
Experience
1 year
Hello Jsides,

Be sure to to shake the bottles really well. Especially the ones for Nitrates. Sometimes the chemicals can form crystals on the bottom of the bottle. Check the dates on them too. They should be good for 3 years from the date stamped on the bottle. I like new kits every year myself though.

Prime should not play a role in your test results as long as you wait 24 hours to test once you've added it.

Since you have a planted tank your cycled readings may very well be 0 ammonia, 0 nitrites and 0 nitrates. Without live plants you should show some nitrates, best under 20. I'd test for a couple of more days. If you get the same readings then you are probably cycled.

Ken

Lucy
sweet! Hopefully it's cycled and wont have to do much maintainence.
 
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #8
OP
jsides1979

jsides1979

Valued Member
Messages
62
Reaction score
0
Points
101
Location
NC
Experience
1 year
everything except nitrate is at 0. I had tested it earlier and got 5ppm of nitrate. So everything is looking good.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Follow FishLore!





Top Bottom