Terribly cloudy water after vacuuming gravel

Discussion in 'Cleaning and Maintenance' started by LindaC, Jul 24, 2012.

1. LindaC

LindaCNew MemberMember

Ratings:
    +0
    Experience:
    1 year
    Hi there,
    I am a newbie here at Fishlore, as of just yesterday. I love reading all the posts to expand my knowledge.
    Yesterday I did a water test. Ammonia & nitrites were 0, my nitrates were high, between 20 - 40. About 5 years ago or so I had a 55 gal aquarium and I'm just starting to get back into it now and its like starting all over again

I now have a 55 gal tank I bought used 2 -3 of months ago ( gravel & decor included ) with cichlids included I sold them off. I kept the 5" LF Synodontis, since then I have bought a 4" plecco, 3 Black Skirt Tetras, a Dwarf Gauramis, I had 5 Cory Cats but I lost two since yesterday. and I have 3 Angle Fish ranging in size of a nickle to between a quarter & 50 cent piece. ( these are my favorites & hope to make them a hobby in their own rite)

Today I did a water change almost 50%, using a ( brand new ) Lee's Ultimate Gravel Vac with the attachment. I really worked it through the stones good. As I was doing this I noticed the water coming out really wasn't showing much debris and it made me wonder how well the attachment worked. great at keeping fish out, but not sure how much debris is passing through.

Once I filled the tank the water was terribly cloudy & you could see the debris floating through the water. I was wondering if anyone would give me their thoughts on the matter, maybe share your experiences.
    Thank you all in advance.

Linda

2. jwhorner6

jwhorner6Well Known MemberMember

Ratings:
    +18
    Experience:
    More than 10 years
    I have never used the lee's vac or that attachment. I'm assuming it is the attachmet that looks like a couple of V shapped ridges in it?