Temporary Angelfish Tank

xPhish
Hello, I am very new to the hobby. Just set up my first tank in my college dorm about a month ago and it’s going well. I recently decided to get a second tank (10 gallon tall) and was wondering if it was possible to put 1 angelfish and 5-6 cardinal tetras in it. I understand that generally angelfish need at least a 29 gallon tank but I am in a unique situation. Since I am moving out in 10 weeks I was thinking that if I got a small angelfish from petsmart he wouldn’t grow large enough to be uncomfortable. Then at the end of the 10 weeks I would be giving my fish back to petco. If this doesn’t work please let me know.

SouthAmericanCichlids
He won't get too big, but know that petco charges a fee to give fish back. But, you need to make sure your tank is cycled before you put the fish in.

xPhish
Thank you so much for the speedy response. I am planning on cycling the tank over spring break using media from my other tank. I also have a test kit so I won’t be adding any fish until the levels are correct. I didn’t know that petco did that...might try and give the fish to a local tropical store then. Hopefully they won’t charge.

DerekO24
I’ve given fish back to petco before that I used to cycle a tank, they didn’t charge me. I also give fish to my local mom n pop fish store and she gives me store credit

Papasmerf73
Am I missing something? Why do you want to get a fish for 10 weeks just to give it back?

xPhish
I just enjoy keeping them, they give me something interesting to look at while I’m studying and I enjoy caring for them. If I weren’t at college and had my own place I would be keeping them for longer.

SouthAmericanCichlids
DerekO24 said:
I’ve given fish back to petco before that I used to cycle a tank, they didn’t charge me. I also give fish to my local mom n pop fish store and she gives me store credit
Oh, that could of been petsmart than. Or it could be different from store to store, I don't know.

Madchild57
xPhish said: