Tell me about your tablet!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by kinezumi89, Dec 3, 2012.

1. kinezumi89

kinezumi89 Fishlore VIP Member

I'm planning on buying a tablet over winter break. I don't know why it took me this long to think of asking my fellow FishLorians!

Here's why I think it would be a good idea for me to get one:

I am a college student. Professors put their lecture slides (Powerpoint presentations) online before class. I print them out and bring them to class to use for taking notes. Professors go way too fast for you to be physically capable of writing everything down, and even if they did, I'd be wasting time writing down what's online instead of listening to them explain things, possibly including things that aren't on the slides.

1. I go through a CRAZY amount of ink and paper printing these things out. I think I'm on my third ink cartridges, and I buy paper in packages of 750 sheets now.
    2. Sometimes professors forget to put the slides up until right before class. This means I am out of luck for taking notes. I've noticed that I legitimately learn more poorly when I don't have the notes directly in front of me, as opposed to seeing them on the screen.
    3. Carrying binders full of notes is heavy! Textbooks are heavy enough.
    4. I wouldn't ever accidentally forget to bring a binder one day, because I'd have them all with me all the time. Plus I could easily bring notes and study when I'm in the car, on the train, etc.

Here's what I would use it for/the features I am looking for:

1. Long battery life is a plus! I'll be using it a lot all day, and outlets aren't always conveniently located.
    2. Ability to read and edit Word documents and PDFs. I need to actually be able to draw and write, not just type.
    3. Internet, so I can visit FishLore, of course! (But not during class.)