Tears In Bettas Tail Fin

Evander
Hello!

I am really new to fish, and just joined the forum after lurking for a while to ask a question.

I've got a betta fish and today some (3-5? it's hard to count when he's moving) small tears appeared in his tail fin. I THINK it's from the plastic part on this fake plant I bought him. I read to only get silk plants, so I picked one out without realizing it had some plastic "leaves" at the bottom. Today I took it out and cut the plastic bits off, so I'm hopeful he won't get anymore tears but will keep an eye on him. I also have a plastic hammock for him, but he's lived with it for two weeks with no tears, whereas I just put the fake plant in two days ago.

My question is, what can I do to help him heal? I've read really conflicting opinions on salt vs. medicine and wanted to get some advice from you guys. How long should it take him to heal up?

Thanks so much!

Advertisement
Kiks
If there are no other issues and his tail is just a little torn, I'd do one water change every day to keep the water pristine. That should help it heal fast and all by itself.

Dave125g
Agree no salt no meds. As long as its not infected just keep the water pristine and it will heal up nicely .

Advertisement
Peach
Salt does nothing. He'll heal up ok if you keep the water nice and clean.

KimberlyG
It may not be called for in this case, but salt actually does a lot. I have attached a paper published by the International Betta Conference if any one is interested.

Advertisement
Evander
I was dumb and got him before cycling the tank (I didn't know ). I usually do a 25%water change every other or every 2 days right now, should I do it more frequently while he's healing (like every day?).

Dave125g
Simply put salt irritates the slime coat on the fish causing it to grow new and shed the old layer. Its all we had 30 years ago. For external infections it worked.

Advertisement
Peach