Tankmates for 5 cherry barbs

peel316

Reaction score
Hi

I have a 125 litter tank with 5 cherry barbs in. I was wondering if any one could help in suggesting what the best fish to add next I try to add 4 Guppies but they die. So not too sure what to add next. Would love to add Mollies & some Neon Tetra as well,
Also what would be a good bottom feeder for a newbie to the hobby to have?
Thanks for any help.

Tazmiche

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Re: suggestions on tankmates for 5 cherry barbs

I also have 5 Cherry Barbs, beautiful fish but not as peaceful as sites say from my experience!! Def fin nippers but funny characters! Just be careful mine are cute beasts! Have Checker barbs and white cloud minnows wi mine, all shoal together. I'm a newbie too.....Good luck!!

jason in houston

Reaction score

a school of ottos are good at keeping algae low and are very cute

Gozer_1

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years

For awhile I kept 3 Cherries with 3 Rosy Barbs and 3 Green Tiger Barbs. They all got alnog well. The Rosies would hang out with the Tigers, and the Cherries were fiesty enough that no one messed with them. They were also with 3 young Tin Foil Barbs who have since out grown and out lived all but 1 Rosy and 1 Tiger. :-[ Moving to a new house can be rough.
Cherries make for a nice school of slightly fiesty fish. Had some guppies with them for a day. Bad idea. Everyone picked on them.
Well, don't know if tha

Gozer_1

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years

Doh, stupid touch pad. Sorry Just wanted to finish saying. Don't know if it helps but I really like these fish . Barbs with Barbs was always my theme.

Wyvern10

Reaction score