Tank will not cycle! Help!

helpmeimlosingmymind

This is my first time doing a fishless cycle. I’m currently (attempting) to cycle a 20 gallon long tank. I have been trying for over 5 weeks now and have still seen absolutely no progress. I dosed the water with prime when I initially put it in. Ammonia has stayed at 2ppm since I put it in pretty much and I’m using Dr. Tim’s ammonium chloride. It’s gone down in very small barely noticeable amounts since then, but I attributed that to evaporation since I’m still showing no nitrites or nitrates. Tank pH is at around 7.8-8.0 and the temperature is 70 degrees Fahrenheit. I did attempt to seed the filter with a filter pad from a friend’s established tank but I did not drip acclimate it so they likely all died. I also used a bottle of tetra safestart two weeks ago that did not seem to do anything.

I also noticed today while testing both my currently cycling tank and my established tanks’ parameters that the water in my cycling tank bubbles/foams up when it is being shaken in the test tubes but the water in my established tank doesn’t foam at all when shaken. Could this have something to do with why my cycle doesn’t seem to be going anywhere? I thought it could be surfactants in the ammonia that I purchased but it doesn’t bubble or foam up like that in the bottle when it is shaken. I guess it could also be from the safestart? This part could just be me over analyzing nothing though.

Any and all help is appreciated! I can’t seem to figure out what I’m doing wrong and it’s driving me crazy.

GlennO

Bacteria doesn't need drip acclimation. You say you have established tanks, could you steal some mature media from them?

It's strange that there's been no progress at all after 5 weeks, even in the absence of used media. The only thing I can suggest is to raise the temp into the high 70's. Bacteria reproduces quicker in warmer water.