Tank Stocking?

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by Katkatt, Apr 14, 2017.

1. Katkatt

Katkatt New Member Member

Hello! I'm quite new to using forums- for fish, at least- but I'm not exactly new to fish owning (if you count a couple of bettas and some goldfish as experience). However, I am new to owning large tanks though, and I need some advice on stocking a new 10-gallon tank. I want to go for guppies and/or mollies, but I have read that mollies don't do well in 10-gall's on some websites. I'm hoping for a community tank, but doing a predator tank is alright as well.

Any advice?

PS. I'm mildly educated on owning a large tank, though, so I don't need a total rundown.

2. KimberlyG

KimberlyG Fishlore VIP Member

You will soon find out that 10 gallons is considered a small tank here. I'm posting a link to some good ideas for a 10 gallon. Have fun.
    Stocking List for 10 Gallons

3. TexasDomer

TexasDomer Fishlore Legend Member

Welcome to Fishlore!

Unfortunately you're quite limited on a 10 gal - it's not considered a large tank to most. Guppies are appropriate for a 10 gal, but mollies are not. There also aren't many predatory fish that are appropriate for this size tank, though there are a few. They're usually a little more difficult to care for though, often requiring live foods.

I would do 5 male guppies in this tank and maybe a few ghost shrimp for the bottom of the tank? That'll create a lively and fully stocked 10 gal :)

4. Arades

Arades Valued Member Member

Mollies are to big but you could do about 3 male guppies. If you want a community get some ember tetras and a flame gourami or somethong. Also maybe some red cherry shrimp or ghost shrimp for bottom feeders.

5. KimberlyG

KimberlyG Fishlore VIP Member

No flame gourami in a ten. A honey gourami maybe.

6. Arades

Arades Valued Member Member

Yeah, i got confused between them both. Sorry.

7. fjh

fjh Well Known Member Member