Tank Size For Fancy Goldfish Babies

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by Kaelico, Apr 12, 2017.

1. Kaelico

KaelicoValued MemberMember

So I think most people would argue that 20 gallons per fancy goldfish is best and even more space is better, and also easier to keep clean. I only have a 30 gallon tank and was planning to put two fantail goldfish in it. Since they will be very small when I get them, will 30 gallons be ok for a while? And at what point should I upgrade to a 40 or 55 gallon? I don't have money for anything bigger right now since I am a student, but I'm saving up to get one in the future. But will the fish be ok in a 30 gallon as babies? By the way, the tank isn't particularly long or tall, it doesn't seem to fit standard sizing but is proportioned similar to this tank.
    Empty_aquarium.jpg
    Courtesy of Google Images

2. emerald6

emerald6Valued MemberMember

The fish would be alright in the 30 gallon as babies, but PREPARE for the large water changes.

3. KinsKicks

KinsKicksFishlore VIPMember

Hello!

Yes, I think the two small goldfish should do fine the thirty gallon. Just be wary that they will grow quickly and may need the bigger tank in he near future. I know I may take some heat for this, but I understand #no$studentlife :p (living it now, lol) Just maintain the water changes and be extra vigilant!

Hope this helps and best of luck!

4. OP
    OP
    Kaelico

KaelicoValued MemberMember

How often do you recommend I do water changes and in what amount? I was thinking weekly 25-30% changes. Is that enough?

5. KinsKicks

KinsKicksFishlore VIPMember

If they stay small, and your filtration is good, 30-40 is good. They produce tons of waste (they are known as large bioloaders). However, you may need to do biweekly changes of 25-30 when they get a bit bigger or if they're producing too much ammonia.

6. jdhef

jdhefModeratorModerator Member