Tank region

Discussion in 'Killifish' started by raif281, Jul 27, 2015.

1. r

raif281 Valued Member Member

noob here. Im doing lots of research before i start my first tank. You know comparing certain fish temps, regions of the tank, ph and all that good stuff. what I'm trying to figure out is which region(s) of the tank killifish hangout/stay at. top, bottom, middle, all? didn't seem to find it on the fishlore killifish description page. thanks for any input.

2. Dom90

Dom90 Fishlore VIP Member

EricV, you're up. He's our resident killifish expert. But they mostly stay on the top of the tank.

3. OP
    OP
    r

awesome Dom thanks!

4. Aqua Hero

Aqua Hero Well Known Member Member

well after doing some quick easy research i found out that they normally swim in the middle regions

5. EricV

EricV Fishlore VIP Member

Depends on the species. Most will spend most of their time at mid-level while others (like the most readily available golden wonders) will spend almost all of their time at the surface.

6. Aqua Hero

Aqua Hero Well Known Member Member

Well I wasn't Completely wrong

Sent from my D2303 using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum mobile app

7. OP
    OP
    r

thanks Ericv! I was looking at the Nothobranchius biography on this site. so pretty much all of them spend their time mid-level besides the golden wonders which mostly stay by the surface.

8. chromedome52

chromedome52 Fishlore VIP Member

Actually, there many that spend time at the bottom as well. Nothos tend to be just off the bottom, rather than mid-level. The North American Pupfish species all live on the bottom, as do a number of Fundulus species. A number of Rivulin species also stay pretty close to the bottom.

The Golden Wonder is supposedly a color form of Aplocheilus lineatus. This is a moderately large, aggressive predatory species. Most of the Epiplatys species also spend their time at the surface. A lot of the Lampeyes tend to stay near the surface.