Tank rearranging help

Arrow1oo

So I'm new to keeping a tank, have a 55 gallon for about 3 months now with fish in it comfortably.

Made the mistake of buying a bunch of artificial plants and making a fairly lame setup with less cover than I'd like.

Now I know I want a semI planted tank, not looking for floor growing plants as much but would like to plant some easy plants such as anubias, java ferns and maybe some Amazon swords. I have black gravel which I like.

I recently bought a 10lb bag of Dragon rock from Petco (might return if don't like), and made a terracotta pot cave.

I wanted a big piece of driftwood to put in the middle but can't seem to find the right shape for a reasonable price.

How should I go about making the tank look less "2 dimensional" and also make separate territories with sight lines fish can hide with.

15829122042604457240715367714249.jpg

BabsandLoon

Can you post a pic of tank as it is currently?

Edited to add: never mind. I see your pic now lol

Arrow1oo

The color of the fake plants takes away from the fish, I want to take out the highly colored ones, don't mind leaving the green ones

Arrow1oo

Can you post a pic of tank as it is currently?
Just did, let me know if you can see it. The ship has to stay as the kids love it lol. I planned to put the pot on the left, ship on the far right, in the middle do something with rocks/big driftwood

EmiliyaCossack

So I'm new to keeping a tank, have a 55 gallon for about 3 months now with fish in it comfortably.

Made the mistake of buying a bunch of artificial plants and making a fairly lame setup with less cover than I'd like.

Now I know I want a semI planted tank, not looking for floor growing plants as much but would like to plant some easy plants such as anubias, java ferns and maybe some Amazon swords. I have black gravel which I like.

I recently bought a 10lb bag of Dragon rock from Petco (might return if don't like), and made a terracotta pot cave.