Tank Not Cycling After 8 Weeks

1. K

KenzieT New Member Member

Hi everyone. I'm having an issue getting my 20 g tank to cycle. I'm doing a fishless cycle with Dr Tims ammonia. I have a sponge filter, a HOB filter, decorations and slate on the bottom. I have the heater set to 85 degrees. Stability didn't get my ammonia to drop nor did Dr. Tims one and only. I added two bottles of TSS within the last 3 weeks and saw a bit of a drop in ammonia. It seems that my ammonia will only drop for about a week and then when I redose ammonia it stops dropping. I have yet to see any nitrites but I have somewhere between 40-80 ppm in nitrates. Can someone please help me? I'm getting very frustrated with the whole process...

Here are my current ammonia nitrite and nitrate readings.

Attached Files:

2. z

zinodyta1 New Member Member

I'm pretty new to this hobby too. Just wondering, are you using dechlorinated water? What's your PH?

3. OP
    OP
    K

Yes, I used dechlorinated water when I initially added the water 8 weeks ago and my PH is 7.6.

4. AngelTheGypsy

AngelTheGypsy Fishlore VIP Member

Have you tested your high range pH or your tap water for nitrates? Just curious if that's where they are coming from, or it could come from the TSS. Have you done any water changes? (Your pH should be fine for cycling, but it is probably in the high range.)
    Sometimes it just takes a ling while for things to get going. Maybe try another brand of bottled bacteria. I've never had much luck with Stability, although TSS has worked for me. Dr. Tim's One and Only is my favorite one.
    If your ammonia is dropping, then not dropping when you redose, it may be that it is just a very small bacteria colony. i.e. If ammonia is dropping by .1 every day, you will see a difference in 3 days if ammonia is under 1 ppm, but if it is at 2 ppm, you won't see a change in your test results for 10 days.