Tank Mates Question

1. Nightshadethebetta

Nightshadethebetta Valued Member Member

I currently have one male betta in a 2.5 gallon tank. My tank has recently had this weird issue with what I believe is white hair algae. And I was wondering if I could add a small snail in my tank? I don’t know if my betta would be aggressive towards it or not, he’s never flared at anything..yet :D But is my tank too small to have another little tank mate? Just curious :) I don’t wanna stress the poor guy out, I’ve only had him for a month! I’m still quite new to fish keeping!

2. penguin02

penguin02 Well Known Member Member

You could do one nerite snail. They are good at removing algae, but you might have to supplement their diet with algae wafers if they're not getting enough to eat. Unlike mystery snails, they look like rocks and shouldn't be picked on by the betta. I've never had trouble keeping nerites with my girls or my male betta when he was still alive :)

3. Lollipop0912

Lollipop0912 Valued Member Member

The hair algae is most often caused by too much light. How long is your light on per day?

4. OP
    OP
    Nightshadethebetta

Where can you usually purchase nerite snails from? Do any pet stores have them?

5. OP
    OP
    Nightshadethebetta

I usually keep it on while I’m at work, which is 8 hours, then turn it off. Is that too much?

6. Lollipop0912

Lollipop0912 Valued Member Member

No. That’s perfect. It’s kind of weird that you have alge, but if you don’t have a clean up crew it makes sense. Some nertile snails will fix the problem in a few days at most.
    Edit: you can get nertile snails from petsmart for like 3 dollars.

7. S

Small Tanks Valued Member Member

What filtration/heating/water changes do you have/do?

Usually you don't want to use an animal to correct something. Good to keep things in check but not if you have a problem already.