Tank Mates For Rcs?

Ohio Mark

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
I have NO experience with shrimp, so I'm just thinking out loud, so to speak. I have an extra 10 gallon with equipment. I have long wanted CPD's so I was hoping to use the 10 for a desk-top CPD tank and I came across the shrimp threads...

Can RCS be housed with CPD and/ or Harlequin Rasboras?

Any ideas on this?

david1978

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
They can but any fish has the potential to eat the little ones. A few dense areas will give them a good survival rate.

fjh

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Shrimp will become snacks for any fish that can fit them in their mouth. Adult shrimp will be fine with both cpd and hr, but any offspring will likely be eaten.

To increase the chance for survival of the babies, create lots of hiding spots and live plants.

Good luck!

Ohio Mark

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
I am planning a densely planted area in one half... Thanks for the info. Any suggestions on who should go in first -- shrimp or fish?

david1978

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
i probably would do the fish first that way you can get you your water conditions stable before adding the shrimp.

david1978

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
i probably would do the fish first that way you can get your water conditions stable before adding the shrimp.

Rtessy

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
4 years
I'd say shrimp first, but only if the tank is fully cycled. It may give some time to find hiding spots and get used to the environment before the fish go in.

Ohio Mark

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Mixed responses.