Tank Maintenance And Lighting

1. R

RedBettaBoy New Member Member

Greetings,

I’m no newbie but I am to keeping a Betta and plants. Previously kept goldfish and a bizarre African clawed frog phase. Both messy animals so I always tried to over filter and vacuumed everything up knowing they will produce more super fast

Now.........1 male Betta and 3 mystery snails in a 20 gallon long with probably 15-17g of actual water. Some java fern, java moss and those lovely Marimo balls. Running 2 hydro sponges in the corners, they are doing some mechanical filtering and the tank is cycled.

If I do anything in the tank all sorts of debris gets rustled up, water changes of course creates a storm and will take 1-2 hours to settle and return to being crystal clear. I have 1-2 inches of substrate, marble size and smaller natural looking rocks.

Is that healthy or normal? I have resisted going crazy vacuuming the gravel thinking that stuff would help feed the plants and keep the good bacteria going strong. If I were to vac all of that stuff up I’m unsure 1 Betta and 3 snails would produce enough to fertilizer my plants or even keep the bacteria and a good level. But knowing that much gunk is hiding on the bottom is driving me nuts

Also I purchased a basic led hood light a few years ago(beams work) I’ve never had algae. I also have no idea if it’s adequate to grow the plants I have in there. The java fern being my main concern

There’s 100ish led bulbs that are 0.1w. So it’s 10 Watts total? It’s certainly bright in there but that seems like a low watt total if that’s how you calculate

Well thanks for reading this far, I’ll take any logical advice that is offered

2. mattgirl

mattgirl Well Known Member Member