Tank Cycling

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by Ms rose, Apr 19, 2018.

1. Ms rose

Ms roseWell Known MemberMember

So I'm new to freshwater aquarium keeping. I've been cycling a tank for 5 weeks no added bacteria, fishless cycling simply feeding the tank algae wafers and flake food every other day.
    I checked about 3 weeks ago and the the test showed progress but not much, so today for the heck of it I tested again and this is my reading after 5 weeks of fishless cycling.

ammonia 0 nitrate I'm sorry nitrite 0 nitrate between 5 and 10 PPM
    could it be true that this tank is actually cycled and if so there's much more to the story but first thing is first

2. jaymethyValued MemberMember

Are those two days the only measurements youve taken? Without measurements every few days it hard to tell...
    Keep adding an ammonia source for the next few days, testing daily, and if the ammonia stays at zero, you might be cycled.

3. OP
    OP
    Ms rose

Yes I have only taken two tests and I haven't done any water changes until today after my reading. I assumed I didn't really have to worry about water changes being there was no fish in there . that could be a rookie mistake I'm not quite sure, rest assured I have done much research, it's just finding answers to specific questions is a bit difficult . I do appreciate your reply and I will absolutely do what you recommended. I did do a 50% water change today and I will continue to add my food source and test daily for the next probably week or even two just to be on the safe side , if you think that that is something that would work thanks again for your reply

Last edited: Apr 21, 2018
  4. jaymethyValued MemberMember

The ammonia and nitrate readings need to be zero before the water change (just to be clear).

5. Madeline PetersonValued MemberMember