Tank cycling just not happening?

jbialik

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Ok here is the recreation of events since the beginning.

Bought and set up a 37gallon freshwater tank on march 9th of this year. Started a cycle with fish, on advice from pet store guy and hadnt read this forum yet on fishless cycle. Anyway began with a few zebra danois, added the seachem stabilty as per instructions on the bottle, used declorinator on the water, also I added a small live plant. Cant remember the name, but it has long vertical leaves, not fanlike, almost like seaweed. I have a master test kit that I bougt and began testing for the first month, and nothing at all changed, ammonia is 0-0.25ppm, nitrates and nitrites are absolutely 0. ph is around 7.8. Now like I say nothing happens for a month, so I figure that the bio-load is too low and the plant is eating the ammonia and there is nothing available for the bacteria to begin.

Then I gradually added 8 neon tetra's, the ammonia never really goes above 0.25ppm and there are still absolutely no nitrate or nitrite. Ok then a week later, this 5 weeks total of tank life-time, a tetra dies. This is the first death, I check tank paramters absolutely the same. Do a water change and treat water with seachem stabilty. A few days later another one is dead, same thing with tank parameters. At this point I added some prime to the tank on the adivce of my friend.