Tank cycling and when to add fish

Brolli

Reaction score
Hello there
I just set up my first aquarium ever around 2 weeks ago. I think it's around 330 litres, 152x42x53 cm in diameters and has been planted from the start. Some valisneria, amazon swords, java moss, bucephalandra, rotala, tripartita, s repens among a few others. I have dosed bacteria twice, once today and once sometime last week. Do I need to buy ammonia and test kits for ammonia, nitrites and nitrates and start dosing ammonia and then test for the water for a week or two? To see if it's truly cycling? Should I add a few hardy fish to speed up the cycling process? I'm really not sure and any advice would be appreciated, I am a total newbie.
Maybe it's worth mentioning that there's a white transparent fungus growing on my driftwood, I read somewhere that the beneficial bacteria will outcompete it for nutrients and in turn kill it. So if the fungus declines and dies, will that tell me if the bacteria has settled?
Also I think I saw a couple tiny snails on some of the leaves who obviously tagged along as hitchhikers. Is it safe to assume if they are alive and well in the tank, that the cycle is complete?
Any help would be gladly appreciated

mattgirl

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Closer to Heaven every day but for now-Arkansas
Experience
More than 10 years
A tank can't cycle without an ammonia source. You will need to either add fish or pure liquid ammonia. Adding the bottled bacteria without also adding ammonia can't start the cycle. The bacteria has to have food. We can help you once you determine which way you are going to go meaning fish in or fishless.

mattgirl

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Brolli said:
Which would you recommend? The inhabitants I'm planning on getting are panda cories, kuhli loaches, neocaridinia and amano shrimp, cardinal tetras, harlequin rasboras, a betta, endler guppies and probably some snails. Are any of these hardy enough to endure this?