Tank cycle

Discussion in 'Aquarium Nitrogen Cycle' started by rkpate, Jul 21, 2015.

1. r

rkpate New Member Member

I have a 10g and a 5g that I have started early and didn't cycle my tanks. This was before I knew you needed too and my water is testing horrible. Is there a way to fix this? I do a 25% water change a week and the tanks are a month and a half to two months old.

2. Dom90

Dom90 Fishlore VIP Member

Do you have a test kit to check your water parameters?

Sent from my iPhone using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum

3. OP
    OP
    r

rkpate New Member Member

Yes I have a master test kit from api

It tests the ammonia ph nitrite and nitrate is there anything else I need to test for?

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 22, 2015
  4. Dom90

No what are your levels at right now or when you last tested?

5. OP
    OP
    r

rkpate New Member Member

The ammonia is through the rough and the ph is 6-6.4. I don't test the nitrite and nitrate much but when I do its high. I control the ammonia with api stress zyme and it helps the nitrite too that's why I don't test those. I don't have anything to help with the nitrate.

Through the roof* I mean lol

6. chrt396

chrt396 Well Known Member Member

You need to get it down to a safe level. If you haven't stressed or poisoned your fish to the point where death is imminent..then do a 75% water change in both tanks which will possibly get your ammonia levels down to HOPEFULLY a safe level. If not..wait a couple days and do another 75% water change. Once the tank gets to 1.0 ammonia or lower... Get 2 bottles of Tetra Safe Start 3.38 oz and dump one each in your 5 gallon and 10 gallon and get it to cycle. Right now..your tank is lethal and needs to be made safe.Normally, 75% is overkill..but in your tank, you need to get rid of the poison which is worse.

7. OP
    OP
    r

rkpate New Member Member

Ok anything else I need to do?