Tank Background

Elbe

Reactions
Experience
Just started
hI all, noticed that the colour of my background is twice as bright when it’s a little wet. Looked into this and saw that people use Vaseline or olive oil to get desired affect. Looked into both methods and I think the oil seems the best bet, but my question is what are the downsides to using oil on your background? I understand it may slowly drip down after time but I’m not too fussed about that and that’s all I’ve seen people moan about really. Thanks in advance.

Momgoose56

Fishlore VIP
Reactions
Experience
More than 10 years
Elbe said:
hI all, noticed that the colour of my background is twice as bright when it’s a little wet. Looked into this and saw that people use Vaseline or olive oil to get desired affect. Looked into both methods and I think the oil seems the best bet, but my question is what are the downsides to using oil on your background? I understand it may slowly drip down after time but I’m not too fussed about that and that’s all I’ve seen people moan about really. Thanks in advance.
How about a bottle of rubber cement? It's removable, doesn't melt, drip, run, attract dust or become rancid!

Faytaya

Reactions
Experience
Just started
I agree with Momgoose56. Oil gets rancid, smelly, and foggy over time. Same with vaseline. Silicone glue or rubber cement will work wonders.

Salem

Well Known
Reactions
Experience
1 year
I haven't used olive oil on a background but I have used it to do similar things- the dripping as you mentioned can happen but what I noticed right away was the subtle smell. Also as momgoose said it can attract dust and eventually go rancid.

StarGirl

Fishlore VIP
Reactions
Experience
More than 10 years
Agree. You would think Olive oil will smell. It is food.

OP
Elbe

Elbe

Reactions
Experience
Just started