Tank And Cycle Questions

1. c

claix96 New Member Member

I've got a fantail goldfish 2 weeks ago as a gift from someone. Poor dude was in a fishbowl. I felt so sorry for it, I brought it a 10 gallon tank thinking it was enough. I found out about the nitrogen cycle and how he needs to be in a 30 gallon tank at the very least about 2 days after he was in the tank.
    He's been in the tank for around a week and a half now and I've been testing water parameters and doing daily 10-20% water changes. So far, pH is 7.5, ammonia is 0.25/ nitrites is 0/ nitrates is 0. I'm not even sure if the cycle has started :/ Water temperature is around 16 celcius (60 Fahrenheit ).

Anyway, I've been desperately searching for an affordable 50 gallon tank and I've finally got one today (I'm still a student after all. Spending all my part time job money to take care of my lil one :p). I was wondering if I should leave my fish in the 10 gallon tank while doing a fishless cycle with my 50 gallon? Or should I just put my fish in the 50 gallon straight away and do a fish-in cycle asap, since the 10 gallon should be in the process of cycling as well?

2. Adam Alston

Adam Alston New Member Member

Keep what your doing in the 10 gallon tank while your cycle your 50 gallon. This way, you can avoid any potential spikes in NO3, NO2, and NH3, while the tank is cycling and could kill your fish.

3. R

Racing1113 Well Known Member Member

I would put him in the 50 gallon. Like you said, either way you're going to do a fish in cycle. It will be much less dangerous in the bigger tank since the toxins won't build up as quickly. A week and a half in you're not too far in. Can you transfer over any decor and filter?

4. OP
    OP
    c

Ye transferring to the 50g sounds good. I have gravel, one deco and a hang on back filter that is only running since the 10g has been set up.