Tall, Easy Plants?

Status
Not open for further replies.

sassymomma

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
4 years
I had Cabomba...for about 2 weeks. It took off, then died over about 3 days and now my tank is littered with needles and I'm going to do a series of vacs to clean it up following my last water change.

I wonder if there's something easy that I could replace it with. I have a brown thumb..I'm not good with plants, yet I keep trying. So far I'm able to keep crypts(sort of, they don't exactly thrive) and anubis in my tank. And I've had a Lucky bamboo submerged for about 6 months. I have a java fern that comes and goes, but doesn't die off.

It's a 36 bowfront with a T8 plant spectrum strip, which is on for 8-10 hours a day. Pool filter sand, Flourish tabs. No liquid ferts.

Params. 0/0/20 Temp:79

Filtration: two 50g HOB filters and a sponge at the bottom. And understocked with only bottom feeders right now, no schooling fish to speak of.

I want something to go in the pots where the cabomba can be seen sitting...I thought I'd fill them with gravel and add the flourish tabs. I can use bigger pots, I just like the symmetry

Attachments

SegiDream

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
I'd recommend seachem flourish liquid and I'd also recommend checking/researching the PAR on the light if you can. I like rotala rotundifolia and ludwigia repens. Jungle val (can get 6ft long), corkscrew val, dwarf hairgrass, ludwigia arcuata ...

Edited to add: The lucky bamboo probably won't survive long term fully submerged the way it is...

sassymomma

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
4 years
I don’t know what PAR is...Does this pic help?
Image1523757959.918026.jpg

It helps me a bit.....tells me I’m due to replace the bulb lol. I got that last winter