Tall, Easy Plants?

Discussion in 'Aquarium Plants' started by sassymomma, Apr 13, 2018.

1. sassymomma

sassymomma Well Known Member Member

I had Cabomba...for about 2 weeks. It took off, then died over about 3 days and now my tank is littered with needles and I'm going to do a series of vacs to clean it up following my last water change.

I wonder if there's something easy that I could replace it with. I have a brown thumb..I'm not good with plants, yet I keep trying. So far I'm able to keep crypts(sort of, they don't exactly thrive) and anubis in my tank. And I've had a Lucky bamboo submerged for about 6 months. I have a java fern that comes and goes, but doesn't die off.

It's a 36 bowfront with a T8 plant spectrum strip, which is on for 8-10 hours a day. Pool filter sand, Flourish tabs. No liquid ferts.

Params. 0/0/20 Temp:79

Filtration: two 50g HOB filters and a sponge at the bottom. And understocked with only bottom feeders right now, no schooling fish to speak of.

I want something to go in the pots where the cabomba can be seen sitting...I thought I'd fill them with gravel and add the flourish tabs. I can use bigger pots, I just like the symmetry

Attached Files:

2. 75g Discus Tank

75g Discus Tank Fishlore VIP Member

Anacharis is really easy to grow IME.

Hygrophila is pretty easy for me.

3. WTFish?

WTFish? Well Known Member Member

Water sprite is easy, pretty and gets tall. I love mine.

4. SegiDream

SegiDream Well Known Member Member

I'd recommend seachem flourish liquid and I'd also recommend checking/researching the PAR on the light if you can. I like rotala rotundifolia and ludwigia repens. Jungle val (can get 6ft long), corkscrew val, dwarf hairgrass, ludwigia arcuata ...

Edited to add: The lucky bamboo probably won't survive long term fully submerged the way it is...

5. OP
    OP
    sassymomma

I don’t know what PAR is...Does this pic help? Image1523757959.918026.jpg