Swordtail identification

Arrow1oo

Valued Member
Reaction score
So when I started the hobby my LFS had these red swordtails that were too good to resist, but expensive at 10$ each.

because I was a noob I got 2 males and this one male killed the other, this happened twice.

I'm looking at this swordtail and trying to find it online and I'm not sure exactly what type it is, it was sold to me as a vampire swordtail but it look amazing.

Was wondering if anyone could help with identifying and also on whether I could keep more successfully as I love the look.

20200312_225538.jpg

20200312_225536.jpg

DuaneV

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Looks like a regular ole Longfin Swordtail, aka Hi Fin, aka Xiphorphorus helleri.

Arrow1oo

Valued Member
Reaction score
DuaneV said:
Looks like a regular ole Longfin Swordtail, aka Hi Fin, aka Xiphorphorus helleri.
Thank lol. I did research and somehow couldn't find that name. Despite them being long fins they're particularly good with tiger Barb's surprisingly. To the point where I've seen mine chase tiger Barb's without them even trying to nip

DuaneV

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Im guessing your TBs arent full grown. lol

Arrow1oo

Valued Member
Reaction score
DuaneV said:
Im guessing your TBs arent full grown. lol
Not yet no lol, I'm sure a problem will arise when that happens. When it does I'll trade them in probably lol

DuaneV

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
If they aren't ripped apart that might be a viable option. lol

Arrow1oo

Valued Member
Reaction score
DuaneV said:
If they aren't ripped apart that might be a viable option. lol
Sounds like you've had a bad experience with them

DuaneV

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years