55 Gallon Tank Switching filter to new style

mommameerkat

Hey guys, I'm pretty new at this, I recently got a 55 gallon aquarium kit which came with a top fin power filter 60. I'm looking at switching to a canister filter that says it's good for 100-200 gallons, but don't want to lose all the healthy bacteria I built up. Since the types of media in each of the filters are different how can I safely switch to the new filter? Will it be okay to run both and have that much filtration? Is too much filtration a thing? Thanks in advance

AcornTheBetta

mommameerkat said:
Hey guys, I'm pretty new at this, I recently got a 55 gallon aquarium kit which came with a top fin power filter 60. I'm looking at switching to a canister filter that says it's good for 100-200 gallons, but don't want to lose all the healthy bacteria I built up. Since the types of media in each of the filters are different how can I safely switch to the new filter? Will it be okay to run both and have that much filtration? Is too much filtration a thing? Thanks in advance
Welcome to Fishlore! To truly say if that filter is too much or too little we need to know the gallons per hour (gph) of the filter. To safely switch, it looks as though the HOB uses pads. I would take one out of the HOB and throw it in the canister compartment. Depending on the canister, this may not work (tho it will work with almost every canister I can think of). In case it doesn't you can put the canister media into the HOB and let that sit next to the pad to get BB. You could run both it really just depends on the gph, but I don't think too much is a thing unless you are running like a Fluval Fx6 on a 5g with a betta in it.

StarGirl

Welcome to Fishlore!
Yes you can totally run both in a 55g. I would run both for a month and then put the media from the old one in the canister.

How recently did you get it? you may not have a whole lot built up yet. You may be cycling both filters at the same time.

Betta'sAnonymous