Swim Bladder Problem... I think?

1. ripfinwinkle Initiate Member

Hi everybody!
    I was hoping someone might be able to help me with my problem because I’m totally at a loss of what to do! I purchased 5 speckled cory cats on the 6th. After acclimating them to the tank temp and parameters, I noticed immediately that one of them looked ill. He was floating on his side at the top of the tank. He doesn’t appear to have a parasite or fungal infections but I’m not really an expert at this stuff… Any who, he does swim to the bottom of the tank to look for food at times. He noticeably has a difficult time swimming. It appears that he is breathing hard, and he sometimes swims to the top of the tank for gulps of air. His gills are noticeably red. He has little red spots under his side fins that I think resemble broken blood vessels. His condition hasn’t changed at all since I bought him. Whatever he has, it isn’t affecting my other fish (5 Tiger Barbs, 4 Corys). I have tried feeding him the inside of peas because it came up as a remedy for what I think he has – swim bladder disease. He wouldn’t eat the pea. I tried feeding him presoaked flake food. He would eat it and then end up spitting it out after about 30 secs. I read that frozen shrimp is easier to eat. So I tried feeding him defrosted mysis shrimp and the same thing happened.
    Sometimes he seems to have a harder time swimming and he ends up doing barrel rolls in the water. When he is at the bottom of the tank trying to find food his tail end is lifted upward like his body is trying to rise like a hot air balloon. I just noticed today that one of his side fins is ripped in half and that he doesn’t use it to swim at all. I don’t know if this is new or if I’m just that blatantly unobservant.
    My water parameters:
    Ammonia: 0 ppm
    Nitrite: 0
    Nitrate: 5
    pH: 7
    Hardness: haven’t tested in awhile but I think it’s around 11 or 12 (my water is always very hard)