Swim bladder disease?

glassescat

My flame dwarf gourami, Marin, who I've had for a year now, has been swimming on her side occasionally. I've also seen her resting face down within the java ferns (I was terrified that she was dead). She's still eager to eat though.

I seriously think she has swim bladder disease. I looked up treatments and one of them said to increase the water temperature to 80 degrees (I just turned up the heater so it might take time). Is there anything else I should do?

I also tested the water, and I do water changes/gravel cleaning every two weeks.

Ammonia-0 ppm
pH- 8.2 (I think this is too high...any ideas to get it down?)
Nitrite- 0 ppm
Nitrate- 5.0 ppm

UnknownUser

Well if it is swim bladder disease, everything I've read says to feed a cooked deshelled pea and skip a feeding or two. The other possible cause is being egg bound, which I have no experience with.

pH is more important to remain consistent than to be a specific number. If it's always been 8.2 I wouldn't go messing with it.

glassescat

Well if it is swim bladder disease, everything I've read says to feed a cooked deshelled pea and skip a feeding or two. The other possible cause is being egg bound, which I have no experience with.

pH is more important to remain consistent than to be a specific number. If it's always been 8.2 I wouldn't go messing with it.
Okay, I'll feed her a pea later since I just fed her not too long ago. Though the thing that concerns me about skipping meals is my other fish going hungry. If I try to feed them, I know she will snatch it up too.

UnknownUser

Okay, I'll feed her a pea later since I just fed her not too long ago. Though the thing that concerns me about skipping meals is my other fish going hungry. If I try to feed them, I know she will snatch it up too.