Swapping tanks and new tank. Question

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by robhill1965, Mar 21, 2010.

1. r

robhill1965 New Member Member

I'm pretty new to this but I have learned a great deal in a short time, especially on this site. Thank you in advance for being so tolerant of us "rookies" and being such a wealth of information. Seems to be a recurring theme here. We don't do the research until it's too late.

My roommate was caring for two aquariums when I moved in 5 months ago. I noticed he wasn't really dedicated enough so I have tried to step in and got hooked.
    I have added a few fish of my own and just set up a new 20 gallon tank. I used the "Jungle Brand - Start Right" and Aquarium Salt. I am on well water so I had assumed the clorine levels are low to non existent. I have spent the last 3 hours reading the forums here and realize I need to get the master test kit.
    The pet store advised me to wait at least 24 to 48 hours before adding fish. I had already added some Red eye neons to one of the "older tanks" that also had a red tailed shark (4 to 5 inches long). The shark occassionally chased the older tetras but now he was chasing AND nibbling the new red eye's who crammed themselves behind some rocks, upside down, nose down or what-have you in terror. I had to move everything around to keep them from killing themselves by not being able to move but this left them no place to hide and the shark was in hog heaven, relentless and just terrorizing the new guys. Spur of the moment, I checked the temp of the new tank and since the "Start Right" bottle claimed it made the water safe immediately for fish, I put the shark in the new tank to get him away from the new fish after only 6 hours of setup. As you might have guessed, he was dead within 45 minutes! I saw him acting very strange, panicked and stuck him back in his original tank where he promptly died.