SW 46 Bowfront Stocking?

Discussion in 'Saltwater Aquarium Stocking' started by cm11599ps, Mar 26, 2010.

1. cm11599ps

cm11599ps Well Known Member Member

I may be picking up a 46 gallon bowfront tomorrow that I would hopefully make into a SW tank in a few weeks. I've never done a SW tank before but have kept FW for close to 20 years now.

I've been doing a lot of research on these tanks recently but I'd still like to have more experienced people help me stock the tank. I have no intentions of upgrading to a larger tank anytime soon so it will only be a 46 gallon for some time.

Please direct me in what would be good. I'm open to anything and I'd like to stay with things that are colorful and active.

Thanks!

2. Stang Man

Stang Man Well Known Member Member

It really depends on what you would like to have I would say reef but that's just me but a reef has a good understanding on what to do and what not to do so If you have had that much expreriance with fresh get it saltie and take a plunge it's a rewarding experiance that is a good one but takes a long time to establish takes 3- 4 times longer but if you do it very!!! slow you will see the progress that this hobby has to offer do it to fast and problems willaccur I try to tell as many people that I can that slow in salt is better but they get to excited and rush things in a reef then they lose everything! Money and time so I would say go for it and when you need help count on me ! need advice I will help and other people as well!

3. OP
    OP
    cm11599ps

I really want to get into salt and would love to have a colorful reef with everything thats needed. Any ideas?

4. Stang Man

I can give you many ideas depends on your budjet! There is alot to be said in this subject! like I said depends on if you want corals or inverts? The best advice I can strongly give you is study up on reef's because there is overwhelmingly alot to learn!

5. OP
    OP
    cm11599ps