Surprise jelly bean parrots?

Discussion in 'Convict Cichlid' started by Joshua Drake, Jul 28, 2015.

1. Joshua Drake

Joshua Drake Well Known Member Member

[​IMG]

So yesterday morning I woke up to all of my cichlids staying very far away from my convict and my parrot only to find this sight. I have no clue what to do with these little guys, obviously I don't want to give them to a shop because I know how jelly bean parrots are dealt with, do I just let nature take its course? I'm planning to separate the convict so they don't continuously spawn and be belligerent but I'm still kind of at a loss...

2. aliray

aliray Fishlore VIP Member

Congrats on the babies. I can't help you as I have no experience with those types of fish. Lots of people on here do so hopefully someone will come along. Alison

3. OP
    OP
    Joshua Drake

I was just really surprised, my parrot isn't even 2 inches long yet, I figured that would be way too early to sex the fish little less breed. I suppose I know she's a female now!

4. chromedome52

chromedome52 Fishlore VIP Member

There's a high probability that your male "Parrot" already was a "Jelly Bean" type, as they are primarily based on the Convict and are much more precocious about breeding. I have kept so-called JB parrots, and many of the fry were less deformed than the adults. They were essentially deformed Convicts, not really hybrids. However, I believe it is also possible that some JB parrots are a hybrid of convict and Bloody Parrot, as I know Convicts and Red Devils can interbreed. My personal dislike for them has to do with keeping such a seriously deformed fish alive and suffering. Not crazy about Fancy Goldfish, either.

5. OP
    OP
    Joshua Drake