Sump Sizing Water Level

Discussion in 'Sump' started by Wickette, Mar 8, 2019.

1. WicketteValued MemberMember

I picked up a new 75g tank and 20H tank to make a wet dry sump filter. (confession FW setup but Im sure ill get better answer from the reef people)

I have never used a sump before, so just need to know if my design is sound"

Im using 1/4" acrylic baffles with a glass tank, not ideal but the only option

My plan was to set the minimum baffle water level to 8.5" assuming will be running it as 9"-11.5"
    (11.5" water level allows the tank to lose 1.5" in a power outage)

are there reasonable number to base my baffle placement ?
    Are there calculators or other resources i can use to figure all this out.

how big does the pump section need to be? does it matter as long as the pump fits?

Heres a rough diagram of the baffle placement

Attached Files:

2. JesterraceWell Known MemberMember