Suggestions for red fin shark compatible friend

HonestAbe

Hello, any suggestions are greatly appreciated since at this point I’m stumped. I’m still in my first year of fish keeping and am struggling to find a community or solo partner for one of my favorite fish the red fin. This is a cycled tank partially planted, 35G, and I have 2 crays and one red fin shark. I don’t plan to add much more but would like to accompany my solo fish with at least 1 other species. I’ve read and watched community tank ideas for the shark and based on my setup I feel like I’ve tried my limited options. I want to keep the 2 crays since they’re happily sharing the space and even mating at times but I do realize that limits my possible choices for additions to the tank. At this point I have tried dwarf gourami, black skirt tetra, and platy(not at the same time). All have been bullied to near exhaustion and I’ve transferred them over to my peaceful 55g tank(Sadly losing one to that exhaustion).

Ouse

Welcome to FishLore.

Red tail sharks are unpredictable. Sometimes they work, but in most cases, they don’t. I’m surprised yours hasn’t attacked those crayfish yet, as they’ll get into the shark’s space more than middle/top swimmers will.

”Bullying” isn’t the right word for it. Bullying is more of a human behaviour, and is not what the shark is doing. “Territorial” is the most fitting word to describe this behaviour.

I don’t suppose the shark wants a friend. Fish don’t form friendships, especially this particular shark. :D

35 gallons is on the smaller end for a red tail shark. The dimensions (length, width and height) can’t possibly be adequate. If you want the tank to be more lively and diverse, it might be best to simply give up the shark. Any other stocking suggestions will suffer the same fate as all the fish you’ve tried so far.

HonestAbe

Welcome to FishLore.