Sudden Ph spike in RCS tank

KRG
Hi all,

First post here. I am new to keeping shrimp and have limited experience with fish. My girlfriend used to keep cichlids. We currently have about 10 shrimp and a little pleco (who is waiting to be moved to a 20 gallon tank when we move apartments and then cycle the new tank. We were misled about her requirements and are making changes as soon as possible).

We have had the tank for about two months. Our shrimp were doing well, I think, though we had two casualties, both died the day after we added them to the tank. This past week we had our first baby shrimp sightings. The adults seem busy so we think they are happy.

We have had some trouble learning how much to feed them (suddenly we had snails and tiny worms on the glass) and the pleco but I thought we were finally dialing it in. Yesterday we vacuumed up a lot of the pleco poop for the first time, changed about 1/4 of the water and changed the carbon part of the filter.

I’ve been testing the water before and after each water change and periodically throughout the week just to learn what is normal and keep my eye on things.

Last night after the water change, things were stable. This morning, I tested and the pH had gone from 6.4 to 8.4 and the KH had gone from 0*d to 20*d!!! And one of my shrimp was dead with a white ring. The others are being sedentary and not zooming around the tank or nibbling along the bottom.

I think it is from the new carbon but we rinsed it in tap water and than syphoned off tank water.

My questions are: what do I do about the pH? I am scared it will kill my shrimp and pleco. But I am also scared if I change more water that it will kill them.

Going forward, how do we keep the pH from spiking??

Other details: I have Java fern, Java moss and Christmas moss in the tank. Last week we put in a piece of Cholla driftwood that we boiled first.

——————————————————
Tank
What is the water volume of the tank? 5 gallon