Subtropical Centerpiece

Quinn_Lamb98

How big of a tank are you thinking?

Have you considered sunfish? There are dwarf sunfish that only get to 1-2 inches long.

86 ssinit

What your building is a cold water tank. Paradise fish would fit but may eat the minnows. Most of your centerpiece fish for a cold water set up may eat the minnows. May want to look into another school and forget the centerpiece.

AquaAlic

What your building is a cold water tank. Paradise fish would fit but may eat the minnows. Most of your centerpiece fish for a cold water set up may eat the minnows. May want to look into another school and forget the centerpiece.
How big of a tank are you thinking?

Have you considered sunfish? There are dwarf sunfish that only get to 1-2 inches long.

I'm planning on at least a 55 gallon

What about red shiners and white clouds?

Quinn_Lamb98

I can't speak on how that work work as I've got no experience with them.

But may I make a suggestion on the tank size? As someone who had a 55 gallon for years before upgrading to a 75 (now a 90), I would suggest starting at the 75 size. The added depth is quite helpful in stocking and scaping the tank. Plus it opens up a whole new can of worms in what size of fish/how large a school you can keep.

AquaAlic

I can't speak on how that work work as I've got no experience with them.

But may I make a suggestion on the tank size? As someone who had a 55 gallon for years before upgrading to a 75 (now a 90), I would suggest starting at the 75 size. The added depth is quite helpful in stocking and scaping the tank. Plus it opens up a whole new can of worms in what size of fish/how large a school you can keep.

Yes definitely a 75 would be better, but still I'm having trouble thinking of any centerpiece for this type of tank

Quinn_Lamb98

Aside from a goldfish it is hard to come up with a coldwater centerpiece fish that isn't going to eat the minnows.