Substrate Mix

1. 8

83jase Valued Member Member

Hi all currently have black diamond quartz not exactly the best plant substrate but at time had plastic plants was scared off co2 and live plants and was visually appeasing was told to mix it with black iron sand so it's 50/50 and use root tabs

This is my first time planting would be worth while throwing some osmocote aqua underneath it all

Will this work lfs guy said will be fine they actually run co2 in there planted tanks. First I've seen

Or scrap the expensive mix
    Not entirely sold on soil mix

4ft tank looking to light/med planted
    Co2 pressurised with co2 reactor
    4ft 52w AZ led light freshwater and plant spectrum light

2. Discus-Tang

Discus-Tang Well Known Member Member

Potting soil has manure in it which can leach tons of ammonia :( you can stop it from happening by capping it with 2" of gravel.

I would keep testing a lot to make sure it isn't leaching too much :)

3. OP
    OP

Not really keen on the soil mix I thought would happen thanks for reconfirming makes me more against the idea

Is my current substrate black diamond quartz mixed black iron sand?
    With root tabs be suffice for light to Med planted tank to me seems fine lfs seem to talk the talk but can he walk the walk as we know about these lfs

If not. what would be suitable and black pref
    I see so many options out there not sure how many are just sales pitches gimmicks and what's actually beneficial very overwhelming new to planted tank

4. Discus-Tang

Your substrate mix will probably work, though to go no ferts no Co2 you will need a planted substrate soil thing.

I'm still sorta lost when it comes to fertilizer :confused: browse the web before you buy. Also do yourself a favour & steer clear of phosphate & nitrate fertilizer.

5. OP
    OP

No ferts and no co2 keep it low tech I like